human-condition

 

I just read a great article on Fast Company.com.  Really relevant for me right now, and for many others. Since February 10th, I have been unemployed from the Architectural firm I had worked for 10 years.  I have not rushed out to look for another ‘job’. I really don’t want just a job. At this point in my life, I want to do something I really want to do.  What that is – I am still trying to decide.  

Po Bronson argues in his article that “the economy would never get a kick start if our workforce was uninspired.” He suggests “that the way to get business going again was for the workers to do something they cared about. They would work extra hard and innovate their way out of this black hole.”  I tend to agree with him, what the world need now is innovative ideas and these ideas don’t happen when people are just going through the motions. Complacency breeds mediocrity. 

The idea that we should be selective in these times may seen indulgent and selfish, but how can things ever change if everything stays the same?  The reality is that people are less likely to make a significant life change unless they are forced to.  So, when I was laid off I saw it more as an opportunity to make a big change. I might have stayed for another 10 years. Many congratulated me, all agreed that it would be a good thing for me in the end.  For now at least, I will hold out, and decide how to get what I want – challenge, fulfillment, excitement and a sense of responsibility.  

I am pretty confident that I will find it, and I will let you know when I do…

